Koninklijke Vereniging voor Nederlandse Muziekgeschiedenis

Bram Nigten (2014)

The KVNM (The Royal Society for Music History of the Netherlands) and the IASPM Benelux (The International Association for the Study of Popular Music Benelux) would like to congratulate:

Bram Nigten (MA University of Groningen, Department of Arts, Culture and Media) for winning the  IASPM Benelux/KVNM Popular Music 2014 MA Thesis Prize for his excellent thesis entitled:

Sonic Reflections: Sonic Space in U.S. Popular Music during the Mono Era (1877-1957) and its Occurrence in Three Recordings of Studio Pioneer Bill Putnam.

The jury found the selection process very competitive and commended each contestant on his/her rigorous and relevant scholarship.





The jury consisted of: 

Niels van Poecke (PhD candidate at Erasmus University)

Albert Meijer (Past winner of the IASPM MA Popular Music Thesis Prize 2014)

Lutgard Mutsaers (Researcher and Professor of Music, University of Groningen)

Job de Wit (Music Journalist, 3voor12) and

Janke Brands (Music Professional, Eurosonic)