Royal Society for Music History of The Netherlands

Floris Schuiling (2020)

After the annual members meeting of the KVNM on Saturday 26 September 2020 the Jan Pieter Heije Prize was awarded to musicologist and assistant professor at Utrecht University, Floris Schuiling, for his dissertation Animate Structures: The Compositions and Improvisations of the Instant Composers Pool Orchestra (University of Cambridge 2015, supervisor prof. dr. Nicholas Cook). The dissertation has appeared with Routledge as a monograph titled The Instant Composers Pool and Improvisation Beyond Jazz in 2018.



Prof. Dr. Mark Delaere (KU Leuven)

Prof. Dr. Julia Kursell (Universiteit van Amsterdam)

Prof. Dr. Mariken Teeuwen (Universiteit Utrecht)


Jury Report